Yep, you’re right … I replied sarcastically

This is an example of what it can be like living with Relationship OCD. Otherwise I guess you could call it intrusive thoughts that focus on my relationship.

So today I got an intrusive thought. 
I recalled (for no apparent reason) a story of this guy (he’s a friend of a friend).
that he had cheated on his partner numerous times (whom he has children with). Then he proposed to his partner after she found out, and she said yes. And then years later he continued on to have an affair with this other woman, even though he was still with his partner (now wife??) and their children. Then I also find out (or came to the conclusion) that he actually ended up leaving his partner to be with this other woman and then he actually married her. So that was my intrusive thought of the day. The kind of thought that usually stings me like a hornet.

These are the kinds of thoughts that can be very troubling to someone that suffers from intrusive thoughts that centre around their relationships. After years of suffering (torture would be a more fitting word) I actually found out that I am not alone, that there are many suffering from what is known as Relationship OCD.

But today, I just said, yep (sarcastically), thats what I am going to do, I am going to go off and have an affair, I’m never going to be able to break it off, and then I’m going to marry that person. Yep, that is what is going to happen.

I’m deliberately exposing myself by writing this, because apparently, with intrusive thoughts, that is what you are suppose to do.

Thanks for listening!

 

 

Leave a Reply

